5 Reasons to Travel

As if you needed any more reasons. Here are five of my personally most important reasons to jump on that plane.

  1. Anonymity sets you free. One of my favourite things about travel is that no one knows who you are. You can take on whatever personality you wish. If you feel trapped in an identity at home, you can take on a new one while traveling. It’s refreshing. And by the time you return home, you might even be comfortable enough to let your true personality shine at home.
  2. Incredible to see in person. Is there a particular historical site you always look at in
    Pantheon
    Hugging the Pantheon in Rome out of excitement.

    books or online? Is there a building? A statue? A football game? A mall?? Whatever your thing is, GO SEE IT IN PERSON. I cannot even begin to describe the feeling of seeing something you’ve only seen in picture, in person. I nearly cried on the Acropolis. I jumped up and down with excitement at the Parthenon in Rome. Finally seeing what you have been dreaming about, in person, will lead to unashamed and uncontainable excitement. I promise you.

  3. Gain confidence in yourself. This one is especially true if you solo travel. There is something liberating and empowering about stepping out of your comfort zone. Travel forces you out of your comfort zone and you will go home different to when you left. I often think to myself “dammit woman, if you can eat alone in a restaurant in Moscow I’m sure you can do –insert scary thing here-“.Reasons to travel
  4. To live life, something to remember when old. People sometimes ask me why I don’t use the money I spend traveling to pay off my student loan. In New Zealand student loans are interest free and they automatically take a minimum out of your pay depending how much you earn. To me, there’s not much point in dropping a large chunk of money on my student. What am I going to remember more when I’m old and immobile in a rest home? That time I paid off my interest free student loan? Or the time I went white water rafting in Bali? That time I drunk Ouzo on the Mediterranean Sea? Seeing the Acropolis in Athens for the first time? I want to invest in my memories.
  5. To realise how tiny your corner is. The world is vast and your corner is tiny. There is so much more going on in the world than just whatever is happening where you are. There are so many different ways to live life than just what is socially acceptable in your corner.

 

What are your reasons for traveling? Do you agree? Do you disagree? As always, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

